Resident British Commissioners for Antigua, Grenada and St. Vincent

Earlier this week, the British High Commissioner to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, Her Excellency Janet Douglas, hosted a reception in Bridgetown to collectively welcome the UK’s new Resident British Commissioners to the region.

They were appointed after the UK government announced plans for a major expansion of its global diplomatic network – opening nine new offices across the Commonwealth. Three of these new missions will based in the Eastern Caribbean islands of Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada, and St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Now in place since their arrivals between August and October 2019, the new Resident British Commissioners are in Barbados for a week of cross-government workshops and briefings at the network’s head office. The RBCs will report to the British High Commission in Bridgetown and to Mrs Douglas, who remains accredited as the British High Commissioner to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean.

These new posts join pre-existing offices in Barbados and St Lucia, giving the UK physical representation in five of the seven countries covered by the Bridgetown and Eastern Caribbean network.

The UK-Eastern Caribbean network’s full complement of Resident British Commissioners is now:

  • Lindsy Thompson – Antigua and Barbuda
  • Wendy Freeman – Grenada
  • Steve McCready – St Lucia
  • Steve Moore – St Vincent and the Grenadines